Rail repairs

Network Rail welcomes three new non-executive directors

Network Rail has announced the appointment of three new non-executive directors to its Board.

Dyan Perry OBE, Steve Scrimshaw and Stuart Harvey will bring a wealth of experience in a variety of public and private sector roles when they join the Board in July.

Dyan Perry (née Crowther) has over 30 years of experience in the rail industry, having started her career as the station manager at Peckham Rye.

She has held a number of senior positions, most recently serving as the chief executive officer of High Speed Rail 1. She has previously been the chief operating officer of Govia Thameslink Railway and route managing director for Network Rail, and currently sits on the Board for the Great British Railways Transition Team.

Dyan Perry OBE

Dyan was the first female managing director in UK rail history and won the award for outstanding personal contribution at the 2023 National Rail Awards.

Steve Scrimshaw has held a variety of leadership roles within the energy and transport sectors over a 45-year career.

In March, Steve retired after four years as CEO of Siemens Energy UK and Ireland, during which time he led the company transformation as it navigated the complex energy transition landscape.

Steve Scrimshaw

He was previously a member of the government’s Hydrogen Delivery Council and Green Jobs Delivery Group, and is currently Chair for the Department for Business and Trade Hydrogen Propulsion Manufacturing Taskforce, which met for the first time on 27th March.

Stuart Harvey is the chief capital officer for Transport for London, having joined the organisation in 1981 as a signalling engineer apprentice. In this role, he is responsible for all enhancement projects, driving the capital efficiency progress and programme management office controls, as well as setting engineering standards and providing engineering and asset strategy expertise.

Stuart Harvey

During his time at TfL, Stuart has overseen several major projects, including the extension of the Northern line, Barking Riverside Extension and major digital signalling schemes.

Peter, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill, CBE, the chair of Network Rail, said: “I’m delighted to welcome Dyan, Steve and Stuart to the Board. They bring a wealth of knowledge and experience and we look forward to having them join us.”

Network Rail has also announced that Rob Brighouse, senior independent non-executive director, will step down from the Board after eight-and-a-half years. A chartered engineer, Rob has over 40 years of experience in the industry and was previously the managing director of Chiltern Railways.

Peter, Lord Hendy of Richmond Hill, CBE, said: “I’d like to thank Rob for his invaluable contribution during his time on the Board. It has been great to have Rob with us, and I wish him all the best in his future endeavours.”

Image credit: Network Rail


RTM April/May 24


Immerse yourself with the latest thought leadership on intelligent wayfinding for a more inclusive railway, a revolutionary approach to investment in the south, and strategic investments unlocking the North’s potential.

More articles...

View all
TransCityRail Banner


Mids \ 29 02 24
South \ 11 07 24
North \ 07 11 24

TransCityRail is a series of regional, interactive and insightful events across the country bringing together leaders, collaborators, problem solvers and innovators in a creative and invigorating way.

This series of events supports and informs the whole of the rail industry and connects suppliers with buyers, specifiers, leaders and decision-makers looking to procure a wide variety of innovative products and services for their region.

Rail Technology Magazine Podcast

Listen to industry leaders on everything within rail

Whether it's the latest advancements in rail technology, policies, innovations, or the challenges facing the rail industry providers, we cover it all.


Join us as we engage with top rail professionals, industry leaders, and policy experts to bring you insightful conversations that matter.